It appears you do not have PDF support in this web browser. Click here to download the document.

Publisher Council of Governors (CoG)
Year of Publication 2018
County Elgeyo-Marakwet

The Constitution of Kenya assigns the responsibility to ensure, facilitate and build capacity of the publicto participate in governance to the county governments through function 14, Schedule 4 part 2. As such,county governments are required to create mechanisms of engagement by ensuring and coordinating theparticipation of communities and locations in governance and build capacity by assisting communitiesand locations to develop the administrative capacity for the effective exercise of the functions and powers.Elgeyo Marakwet County has operationalized these constitutional requirements and other legal provisionsincluding the Public Finance Management, Act 2012, County Government Act, 2012, Urban areas andCities Act, 2012 amongst other legislations. These provisions require periodic preparation of variousplanning documents; County Integrated Development Plan (CIDPs), Spatial Plans, Urban Areas andCities Plan, Sectoral Plans, Annual Development Plans (ADPs) and Budget Estimates.The county government is composed of two arms; the Legislature and the Executive. The Legislature iscomposed of the Speaker, one elected member from each of the countys twenty Wards, nominatedmembers representing special interest groups and staff led by the County Assembly Clerk. TheLegislatures roles are; representation, oversight, and legislation. The role of the Executive arm is toimplement laws, policies and plans relating to the county mandates, with the aim of achieving countydevelopment targets.The Executive is organized into twelve departments based on their mandates. Ten of these departmentsare headed by County Executive Committee Members (CECMs) while two are the Office of the Governorand Executive Administration and the County Public Service Board. For appropriate planning approaches,budget considerations, harmony in coordination and synergy in resource mobilization strategies, alldepartments have been assigned a planning contact person. These departments are Finance & Economicplanning; Roads, public works & Transport; Youth, Sports, Culture and social Services, Gender;Education and Technical Training; Health Services; Water, lands, Housing & planning; Trade, Tourism,Cooperatives & Wildlife; Agriculture; ICT & Public service. Each of these departments has a vision,mission and a set of programmes to deliver on their mandates and development objectives.

Tags elgeyo, marakwet, elgeyo-marakwet-approved-budget-2017-18-fy, Public Finance


Social Media



Get In Touch

Kaya I/O,
Statehouse Road
Hillcrest Building, Next to Philippines Embassy
P.O. Box 76203 – 00508 Nairobi, Kenya

Social Media

Sign up with your email to get updates on data resources uploaded.